Skip to content

Wood pellets, read on the certificate rather than the bag

Pellets are the one fuel on this site with a certification that means something specific, and reading the shelf begins there. ENplus A1 and the equivalent national schemes fix limits rather than promises: a maximum ash content, a maximum moisture, a minimum calorific value, a diameter and a length range, and a mechanical durability that decides how much dust arrives in the bag. A sack that carries the certificate and its licence number is a sack whose four figures are bounded; a sack that says "premium" is a sack that says nothing. The calorific value in kWh per kilogram is the energy you buy, and the spread across certified pellets is narrow — which is exactly why the other figures decide. The ash content as a percentage is the one that shows up weekly: below 0,7 % is the A1 limit, and the difference between 0,3 % and 0,7 % is the difference between emptying the pan monthly and emptying it every few days. The diameter, 6 mm or 8 mm, has to suit the auger. Then the commercial part that dominates the real cost: the pack size and how it ships — 15 kg sacks, a half-pallet, a full pallet — because pellets are dense and delivery is most of the difference between two identical products. We compare certification, diameter, calorific value, ash content, moisture, raw material, pack size and origin.

These parts, set out figure by figure

  1. A 15 kg sack of 6 mm ENplus A1 softwood heating pellets

    Stahl-Shop24 ENplus A1 Wood Pellets, 15 kg

    A single 15 kg sack of 6 mm softwood pellets carrying both the ENplus A1 registration number and the ISO standard behind it — and no figure under either.

    Certification
    ENplus A1, with the registration DE 045 printed, plus ISO 17225-2 · Pellet stove, pellet heating system and pellet boiler
    Diameter
    6 mm
    Calorific value
    Not published
    Ash content
    Described as very low — no figure published
    Moisture
    The maker does not state it.
    Raw material
    100 % softwood, stated without chemical additives · Pressed from by-products of wood processing, stated
    Pack size
    One 15 kg sack — the only single sack in this family
    Origin
    The maker does not state it.
    Amazon reference
    B0GVK6C23D (one reference across 5 Amazon marketplaces)
    EAN
    4069249067768
    • Prints its ENplus registration number rather than only the class, which is what makes a certification claim checkable
    • Names ISO 17225-2 as well as the ENplus class — the document under the badge
    • No calorific value published, where three other listings here give one

    Best for: Testing how one stove behaves on one sack before committing to a pallet of anything

    Check price on Amazon
  2. Two 15 kg sacks of 6 mm ENplus A1 softwood pellets, 30 kg in total

    HRB 30 kg Wood Pellets, 2 × 15 kg

    The only listing in this family that publishes the full set — calorific value, ash, moisture, mechanical durability and bulk density, all six figures.

    Certification
    EN plus A1, stated without binders or chemical additives
    Diameter
    6 mm
    Calorific value
    Approximately 5 kWh/kg, with a stated floor of ≥ 4.8 kWh/kg · ≥ 98 % · ≥ 600 kg/m³
    Ash content
    ≤ 0.5 %
    Moisture
    ≤ 9.1 %
    Raw material
    The maker does not state it.
    Pack size
    30 kg, as 2 × 15 kg sacks
    Origin
    The maker does not state it.
    Amazon reference
    B01LWWLLQK (one reference across 5 Amazon marketplaces)
    EAN
    4260442964216
    • Six published figures where the rest of this shelf publishes between none and four — the only complete specification in the family
    • Publishes mechanical durability and bulk density, which nothing else here does and which decide dust and auger behaviour
    • Two figures for calorific value on the same listing — approximately 5 and at least 4.8 — and the listing does not reconcile them

    Best for: Anybody who wants the numbers a pellet is actually judged on rather than the class it belongs to

    Check price on Amazon
  3. Two 15 kg sacks of 6 mm ENplus A1 pellets made from hardwood and softwood by-products

    HLKauf ENplus A1 Wood Pellets, 2 × 15 kg

    Pressed from both hardwood and softwood sawmill by-products, with a calorific value published as a range and an ash melting point nobody else states.

    Certification
    ENplus A1, tested to ISO 17225-2, PEFC certified
    Diameter
    6 mm
    Calorific value
    Approximately 4.6 to 5.3 kWh/kg — published as a range
    Ash content
    Maximum 0.7 %, with an ash melting point of at least 1,200 °C — a figure published by no other listing here
    Moisture
    The maker does not state it.
    Raw material
    Sawmill by-products of various hardwoods and softwoods, pressed under high pressure · None, stated — no chemical additives or binders
    Pack size
    2 × 15 kg sacks
    Origin
    The maker does not state it.
    Amazon reference
    B0HF811Q2H (one reference across 1 Amazon marketplace)
    EAN
    4063604348943
    • Publishes a calorific range rather than a single flattering figure, which is the more honest form of the number
    • The only listing here to state an ash melting point, which is what decides whether ash sinters in the burn pot
    • The bottom of the published range, 4.6 kWh/kg, is the lowest figure stated anywhere in this family

    Best for: A buyer who would rather see the real spread of a batch than a single number chosen from its top end

    Check price on Amazon
  4. Two 15 kg sacks of Bavarian-made premium wood pellets certified to ENplus A1 and DINplus

    Brennstoffhandel Apfelbeck High Energy Premium Pellets, 2 × 15 kg

    Double-certified to ENplus A1 and DINplus, made in Bavaria, and stated to be very low in dust — with one figure published and no more.

    Certification
    EN plus A1 and DINplus, both stated
    Diameter
    The maker does not state it.
    Calorific value
    Approximately 5 kWh/kg
    Ash content
    Not published
    Moisture
    The maker does not state it.
    Raw material
    Stated as carbon neutral · Not published
    Pack size
    Stated to be very low in dust — no figure published · 2 sacks of 15 kg
    Origin
    Made in Bavaria, stated, with production described as regional
    Amazon reference
    B09CVWVPV4 (one reference across 1 Amazon marketplace)
    EAN
    0731275995462
    • Carries two certifications rather than one — ENplus A1 and DINplus, which are separate schemes
    • Names the region of production rather than leaving the origin unstated, as three listings here do
    • Five stated features in total, four of which are claims rather than figures

    Best for: Somebody who weighs a named production region and a second certification above a longer specification table

    Check price on Amazon
  5. Two 15 kg sacks of Olimp premium 6 mm wood pellets in weatherproof packaging

    JSM-Brennholz Olimp Premium Pellets, 2 × 15 kg

    The highest calorific floor and the lowest ash on this shelf — alongside three cost-saving percentages the listing gives no basis or date for.

    Certification
    DINplus and ENplus A1, both stated
    Diameter
    6 mm
    Calorific value
    ≥ 5.3 kWh/kg — the highest floor published in this family · Stated clean and almost residue-free
    Ash content
    Under 0.4 % — the lowest figure published here
    Moisture
    Approximately 5 to 7 %
    Raw material
    The maker does not state it.
    Pack size
    Stated transport-safe and weatherproof · 15 kg per sack, stated — supplied as 2 × 15 kg
    Origin
    The maker does not state it.
    Amazon reference
    B08WRMLCTM (one reference across 1 Amazon marketplace)
    EAN
    0680548660005
    • The highest published calorific floor and the lowest published ash content of any listing in this family
    • Publishes moisture as a range, 5 to 7 %, which is the tightest and best-bounded on this shelf
    • Publishes three cost comparisons against gas, heating oil and LPG with no date, region or price basis given for any of them

    Best for: A stove whose burn pot fills too fast, where a lower ash figure is worth paying for

    Check price on Amazon
  6. A pallet of sixty-six 15 kg sacks of REKORD premium ENplus A1 wood pellets

    Rekord Premium Pellets A1, 66 × 15 kg Pallet

    A full pallet of sixty-six sacks, kerbside delivery, a phone number required — and a single line of specification for the whole listing.

    Certification
    A1 ENplus, and PFSC as written on the listing
    Diameter
    The maker does not state it.
    Calorific value
    Not published
    Ash content
    Not published
    Moisture
    The maker does not state it.
    Raw material
    The maker does not state it.
    Pack size
    66 sacks of 15 kg on a pallet · Stated low in dust — no figure published · Free to the kerbside, stated · A correct telephone number for the delivery notification, stated as essential
    Origin
    German manufacture, stated
    Amazon reference
    B0CYCKPF2H (one reference across 5 Amazon marketplaces)
    EAN
    4020748920114
    • A full pallet in one order, at the scale a pellet stove actually consumes over a winter
    • Delivery to the kerbside is stated as included rather than added at checkout
    • One stated feature line for the entire listing — no calorific value, no ash, no moisture, no diameter

    Best for: A household already settled on a pellet and buying a heating season in one delivery

    Check price on Amazon
  7. A 975 kg pallet of sixty-five 15 kg sacks of HEIZFUXX Blue ENplus A1 softwood pellets

    HEIZFUXX Blue ENplus A1 Softwood Pellets, 975 kg

    Sixty-five sacks totalling 975 kg, softwood, with the pallet weight published rather than left to the buyer to multiply.

    Certification
    ENplus A1, stated as from sustainable forestry
    Diameter
    The maker does not state it.
    Calorific value
    High calorific value and long burn time claimed — no figure published
    Ash content
    Stated low ash fraction — no figure published
    Moisture
    Stated low residual moisture — no figure published
    Raw material
    Softwood (Weichholz), stated · Stated a natural product with no chemical binders
    Pack size
    975 kg — 65 sacks of 15 kg, one pallet, with the total published · Stated clean and dust-free storage
    Origin
    The maker does not state it.
    Amazon reference
    B076CQ1QBV (one reference across 5 Amazon marketplaces)
    EAN
    4260443344062
    • Publishes the pallet total as 975 kg rather than leaving a buyer to multiply sacks by weight
    • Names the raw material as softwood, which three listings on this shelf leave unstated
    • Five stated features, none of them a number — every property is an adjective

    Best for: Buying a winter of softwood pellets in one delivery, from a listing that at least states what the wood is

    Check price on Amazon

This category at a glance

  • Highest Amazon reference in this category: HEIZFUXX PAX1565 (B076CQ1QBV (one reference across 5 Amazon marketplaces)).

Every model compared

Only the specifications at least four models out of five state. A column that is more empty than full compares nothing.

ModelPriceAmazon referenceAsh contentCalorific valueCertification

Sources and method

Specifications: manufacturer sheets and Amazon product pages. Prices and availability: Keepa. No product on this site has been physically tested.

Most recent revision in this category: September 22, 2026.

How we assess products